The Alamo
The Alamo   Originally named Mission San Antonio de Valero, the Alamo was established in 1718 as San Antoino's first mission. For nearly 70 years it served as home to missionaries and their Native American converts. During the 1790's Spanish officials secularized the five missions and distributed their lands to the residents. In the early 1800's the Spanish military occupied the Alamo and established the first recorded hospital in Texas in the Long Barrack. On February 23, 1836 General Santa Anna arrived with his army and caught the residents by surprise. The defenders held out agains repeated attacks for 13 days. On March 6, 1836 189 defenders fell to the Mexican Army. The fall of the Alamo and the death of the 189 defenders has come to symbolize courage and sacrifice for the cause of liberty and freedom, a heroic struggle against impossible odds. Located on Alamo Plaza, the Alamo represents nearly 300 years of history. Its three buildings, the Shrine, Long Barrack Museum and Gift Museum, house exhibits on the Texas Revolution and Texas History. Visitors are welcome to explore the beautiful gardens and learn about our beautiful state.