The Spanish Governor's Palace
The Spanish Governor's Palace   This National Historic Landmark represents the last trace of the Presidio San Antonio de Bejar and is traditionally known as the Spanish Governor's Palace. Built ca. 1749, the Spanish Governor's Palace was originally the Commandancia for the Captain of the Presidio and a military garrison entrusted to protect the nearby San Antonio de Valero Mission (the Alamo) and the growing colony. During the 1770's the capital of Spanish Texas was moved to the Presidio de San Antonio de Bejar and housed the Governor of Texas. By the early 1820's the Presidio's days as a military post were over. Over the years the building's function changed from residential to commercial and housed a variety of businesses. The building was purchased by the City of San Antonio in 1928 and has been restored to its original grandeur. It now serves as a museum furnished with Spanish Colonial period pieces, features magnificent hand-carved wooden doors at the entrance with a lush cobblestone courtyard and fountain in the back. Most noteworthy is the original keystone over the entrance that bears the carved, double-headed eagle from the Hapsburg coat of arms along with an inscription reading "finished in 1749." Known as the "most beautiful building" in the entire city according tot he National Geographic Society, the Spanish Governor's Palace is like taking a step back into time.